Skip to main content
Skip to main menu Skip to spotlight region Skip to secondary region Skip to UGA region Skip to Tertiary region Skip to Quaternary region Skip to unit footer


Tags: Recognition


Peabody Hall
Philosophy Department Celebrates Graduating Seniors

  On Friday May 17th the Philosophy Department held both a virtual and a face to face ceremony in celebration of its seniors graduating in the spring and summer 2021. A record number of Philosophy majors graduated this year and some of them are going on to prestigious graduate programs. Congratulations to our students and best of luck in all future endeavors!  Gianna Scerbo, recipient of the Richard H. Severens scholarship, with…

Undergraduate Award Winners Announced

Isabelle Riddle William T. Blackstone Honors Philosophy Scholarship Isabelle is graduating with a B.S. in Biology (with a neuroscience area of emphasis) and a minor in Philosophy. She hopes to attend medical school and become a diagnostician after a gap year of ecology field research. She is passionate about travel, medical ethics, poetry, and good conversations with friends.       Emma Emery Frank Harrison III Scholarship Emma…

Chris Cuomo
Cuomo Receives Inaugural Davion Award

Victoria Davion   UGA professor of Philosophy and Women's Studies Chris Cuomo is the recipient of the inaugural Victoria Davion Award for Intersectionality in Environmental Ethics to be presented at the 17th Annual Conference of the International Society for Environmental Ethics. The award is in honor of Victoria Davion, the first woman appointed head of the University of Georgia Department of Philosophy, a position which she held from…

Ethics & the Environment 25th anniversary
Ethics & the Environment Celebrates 25th Anniversary

Ethics & the Environment celebrates 25 years of editorship at the University of Georgia Department of Philosophy. This biannual peer-review journal of environmental philosophy was founded in 1995 by UGA professor and ecofeminist scholar Victoria Davion and has steadily grown to international recognition as one of the premier journals in the field.   Upon Davion’s untimely passing in 2017, Associate Professor Piers H.G. Stephens assumed…

2020 undergrad writings
Spring 2020 Undergraduates' Writings Recognized

Congratulations go out to three Department of Philosophy undergraduates who have earned recognition for their writing as undergraduate students. Marc Biemiller, 2020 graduate who double-majored in Philosophy and Music, had his paper “Augustine and Plato: Clarifying Misconceptions” published in the Fall 2019 issue of the journal Aporia. “I first began to read Augustine in high school and immediately noticed his obvious connection with Plato…

Peabody Hall
Congratulations to Philosophy Graduates & Awardees

The Department of Philosophy community gathered for an online celebration on May 14, 2020 to recognize this year's graduates and award winners. The event was attended by Franklin College of Arts and Sciences Dean Alan Dorsey and included recorded remarks from UGA icon Coach Vince Dooley as well as Department of Philosophy alumnus Dustin Elliott, an environmental/natural resource policy attorney who is now the legal director of the…

Chris Cuomo
Cuomo Interviewed in Times of India

An interview with Department of Philosophy Professor Chris Cuomo appeared in a recent edition of The Times of India. Reporter Srijana Mitra Das spoke with Cuomo about her work in ecofeminism and the interrelationship of women and nature in the February 8, 2020 article "Women and nature share a powerful moral connection" appearing in The Times "Evoke" section featuring regular coverage of climate change and socio-ecological issues. …

Peabody abstract
Philosophy Undergraduates Present at Conferences

Several UGA Department of Philosophy undergraduate students have been selected to present papers at conferences throughout the Spring 2020 semester:  Marc Biemiller, a 4th-year Philosophy and Music major, presented a poster of his paper on Augustine at the Annual Meeting of the American Philosophical Association in Philadelphia in January and recently gave the same paper at the Southeast Philosophy Congress at Clayton State University…

Melissa Fahmy
Fahmy Awarded Teaching Fellowship

Melissa Seymour Fahmy, Associate Professor in the Department of Philosophy, has been selected as a Center for Teaching & Learning Senior Teaching Fellow. This award provides senior faculty with an opportunity to focus on undergraduate instruction and enables opportunities for faculty from a variety of disciplines to interact and share ideas regarding instructional challenges. CTL Fellowships help reinforce an instructional environment that…

John Malone
Malone Awarded Severens Scholarship

John (Johnny) Malone has been awarded the Richard H. Severens Scholarship for Academic Year 2018-2018.  Malone is a double major in English and Philosophy with academic interests in the interactions between philosophy and literature, the use of art in philosophical inquiry, and 20th century poetics. He grew up in Lindale, Georgia and spends much time these days corralling his nine pets and …

Support Philosophy at UGA

The Department of Philosophy appreciates your financial support. Your gift is important to us and helps support critical opportunities for students and faculty alike, including lectures, travel support, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. Click here to learn more.