Skip to main content
Skip to main menu Skip to spotlight region Skip to secondary region Skip to UGA region Skip to Tertiary region Skip to Quaternary region Skip to unit footer


Tags: Undergraduate News


The Office, Ethics Bowl '22 winners
Inaugural Ethics Bowl Was a Big Success

On Saturday October 22, the Department of Philosophy held their very first Ethics Bowl as part of the Ethics Awareness Week activities across campus. "In their presentations and discussions, the student participants truly exemplified several of the key virtues of ethical discussion: the principle of charity, attention to nuance, and identifying the core ethical tensions in complex situations," explains assistant professor Jeremy Davis, primary…

UGA Philosophy graduation reception
Department of Philosophy Hosts Spring 2022 Graduation Reception

The Department of Philosophy hosted a reception and awards presentation on Friday, May 13 to recognize Spring 2022 graduates and award recipients. Students and their families gathered for refreshments in front of Peabody Hall as department head Aaron Meskin and associate professor Piers Stephens recognized this year's scholarship and award winners. Undergraduate coordinator Athanasios Samaras presented all graduates with a gift bag containing a…

Peabody abstract
Philosophy Undergraduates Published

Department of Philosophy undergraduate students Eshaan Agrawal and Austin Kral have articles in the most recent issue of the UGA publication, The Classic Journal. Agrawal's essay, "The Epistemic Value of Imagination" argues for a theory of mind utilizing imagination in the creation of knowledge. Kral's piece, "Anticipation Through Imagination" is an explication of the perception-, belief-, and access-approaches taken towards…

Peabody abstract
Undergraduate Scholarship & Award Winners Announced

The Department of Philosophy is excited to announce the 2022 undergraduate scholarship & award winners. Congratulations to Himani Yadav, David Hauser, Andrew Zach,  Kemper Higgins, Julia (“Lizzie”) Hippe, Ellie Moser, and Matthew Li: The Blackstone Scholarship Himani Yadav is a Philosophy, Computer Science, and Cognitive Science major. At UGA they conduct deep learning research and enjoy getting…

UGA philosophy club
Spring 2022 Undergrad News

The UGA Philosophy Club hosts weekly meetings as well as book club and movie nights. This semester, the book club covered selections of Hegel’s Phenomenology of Spirit, and Boethius’ The Consolation of Philosophy. An inaugural movie night screened Hannah Arendt, the 2012 German biopic directed by Margarethe von Trotta about the renowned 20th century Holocaust survivor and political philosopher and journalist whose…

Peabody front
Undergrad Awards/ Scholarship Deadline April 11

The deadline to apply for undergraduate awards & scholarships for the current academic year is 5pm, Monday, April 11, 2022. Undergraduate Philosophy students wishing to be considered for the Daniel Hart Memorial Scholarship, the Frank Harrison III Scholarship, the Horace B. Russell Prize, the Richard R. Severens Scholarship, or the William T. Blackstone Honors Memorial Scholarship can find criteria, application, and selection process details…

Philosophy Multiculturalism
New Course Announced: PHIL 2700-Philosophical Approaches to Multiculturalism

The Department of Philosophy announces the approval of PHIL 2700, Philosophical Approaches to Multiculturalism, for enrollment in Spring 2021. Developed by Assistant Professor Rohan Sikri, this class meets the Franklin College Multicultural requirement.  “This course offers students the opportunity to learn about the discourse on multiculturalism (in particular, about its iterations in the United States), explore tensions and problems…

Peabody Hall
Philosophy Department Celebrates Graduating Seniors

  On Friday May 17th the Philosophy Department held both a virtual and a face to face ceremony in celebration of its seniors graduating in the spring and summer 2021. A record number of Philosophy majors graduated this year and some of them are going on to prestigious graduate programs. Congratulations to our students and best of luck in all future endeavors!  Gianna Scerbo, recipient of the Richard H. Severens scholarship, with…

Undergraduate Award Winners Announced

Isabelle Riddle William T. Blackstone Honors Philosophy Scholarship Isabelle is graduating with a B.S. in Biology (with a neuroscience area of emphasis) and a minor in Philosophy. She hopes to attend medical school and become a diagnostician after a gap year of ecology field research. She is passionate about travel, medical ethics, poetry, and good conversations with friends.       Emma Emery Frank Harrison III Scholarship Emma…

Peabody Hall
Scholarship Application Deadline April 12

It's that time of the year again! The Department of Philosophy is currently seeking applications for undergraduate scholarships including the Frank Harrison III Scholarship, the Daniel S. Hart Memorial Scholarship, the William T. Blackstone Honors Philosophy Scholarship, the Richard H. Severens Scholarship, and nominations for the Horace B. Russell Prize. Application materials, qualifying criteria, and…

Support Philosophy at UGA

The Department of Philosophy appreciates your financial support. Your gift is important to us and helps support critical opportunities for students and faculty alike, including lectures, travel support, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. Click here to learn more.